What’s Keeping Me Going?

ImageIced coffee, these days. Since moving to Baltimore, it now takes me at least an hour to drive to work in the morning, and I changed my hours so my workday starts and ends earlier in order to avoid as much gridlock as possible. I am not a morning person, so this is a definite problem for me. I need a boost in the morning, and while I’d love green tea to be enough for me, I need something stronger.

I’ve never had much of an opinion about coffee. (I have an opinion about a lot things, so this is sort of weird for me.) I’ll drink pre-ground supermarket coffee (currently drinking pre-ground Dunkin Donuts in the mornings) or fancy coffee. I just need some skim milk to stir in. No skim, only whole or half-and-half or powdered creamer? Sure, okay. I guess I can kind of tell the difference between roasts and beans and qualities, but I mean…it’s coffee. If it has caffeine, I’ll drink it.

I never needed caffeine, really. I never pulled all-nighters in college, I’ve never had the kind of job that keeps me late and brings me in early the next morning. I generally get at least eight hours of sleep.

But now that I’m getting up with the sun, essentially, I’ve been having trouble keeping my eyes open the whole drive to work. (I still do, but it involves a lot of digging my nails into my palms or turning off NPR. This has only happened once.)

I brew regular coffee the night before, which takes literally three minutes, pour it into a pint glass or a glass-handled measuring cup, and stick it in the fridge. Before I walk out the door in the morning, I pour it into my travel tumbler, add in a couple of ice cubes, and pour in some skim. Even the smell of it wakes me up. Done.

Now I just need someone to make me a handheld breakfast in the morning. I don’t think my cats should be using the stove, though…

Leave a Reply

